Winter Layers and Surprise Snow Melt Hazzards

Matty J and I have been running a bit this winter, but I’m really just not a fan of the biting cold.  I also am not a fan of wearing the equivalent of an entire load of laundry on my body at once, but I do like the invigorating feeling AFTER a run in the cold!

Never did I ever, ever think I'd run in weather so cold it required 2 pairs of pants!

Never did I ever, ever think I’d run in weather so cold it required 2 pairs of pants!

Yesterday I took a day off of work and it got over 40 degrees in the afternoon so I decided to take advantage and run, run, run.  I loved it!  One shirt!  One pair of pants!  My light shoes!  I did about 4 miles through waterworks park and then I thought I was going to die.  I got a stomach cramp that took my breath away and about 30 minutes after I got home I felt like my eyes, nose, and throat were on fire.  I looked like I was sobbing.  I have allergies, sure, mostly in the fall and after rain (mold).  As the night went on, I couldn’t stop sneezing and my nose was like a faucet (eeew, I know, I know, TMI).

I decided to do some research and found out there is such a thing as snow mold where leaves and such buried under the snow grow lots of icky mold and then when snow melts in the spring, the mold is released into the air.  It kind of makes sense?  I suppose I’ve never experienced such a reaction before because #1, I’d have NEVER run or exercised outdoors in weather under 50 degrees before last year and #2 maybe this had something to do with my allergies being worse last year than in all the years prior combined (can your allergies just get worse and stay worse?).  I’m not sure if that is because I decided to become an outdoor exercise enthusiast for the first time last year so my exposure to allergens was way up or because climate change has jacked up lots of peoples’ allergies.  Either way, it was pretty much a bummer.

So snow mold or winter outdoor allergies…anyone ever hear of this?  Have you dealt with it?  Are you dealing with it now that it is slushy and icky out?  This is a huge bummer!

Winter Run at Gray's Lake

Winter Run at Gray’s Lake

Leave a Reply

Fitness Fatale

Conquering Fitness Goals One at a Time

BS in the Midwest

why not Iowa?

GG's Tri Blog

A geeky triathlete's 2 cents on various topics...

mikebuenting

The words of Mike Buenting! Endurance athlete and coach

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

San Diego Fitness Diva

Distance runner and fitness enthusiast who loves coffee & leafy greens

Mastering the Uphill Shift

Musings of an Amateur Armchair Cycling Enthusiast

