IronGlut: A 6 hour bike ride

I have a new goal!  YAY!  As part of a committee I’m on for the Flapjack 5k/10k for Children’s Cancer Connection, I’ve met Caleb Pike who has an organization, IM4RM that raises funds for Children’s Cancer Connection through events and races like the Ironman.  His organization is holding their annual IronGlut Spinathon and Century Challenge on April 7th.

Basically, you (or you and team members) bike on a spin bike or your own bike on a trainer for 6 hours.  Refreshments are provided and people with the Children’s Cancer Organization offer motivation.  A series of spin instructors will take turns leading the group, or you can go on your own.  There is also a contest and prize for anyone who completes the Century Challenge  of 100 miles in 6 hours.

I know I can’t do 100 miles and I’m not sure that I want to buy a bike computer that will measure my speed and distance on the trainer since I already have a front wheel computer, but I think that just building my endurance to help me in this summer’s races would be awesome!

So far my training partner Abra has committed to signing up with me.  Anyone else want to give it a whirl?

Leave a Reply

Fitness Fatale

Conquering Fitness Goals One at a Time

BS in the Midwest

why not Iowa?

GG's Tri Blog

A geeky triathlete's 2 cents on various topics...

mikebuenting

The words of Mike Buenting! Endurance athlete and coach

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

San Diego Fitness Diva

Distance runner and fitness enthusiast who loves coffee & leafy greens

Mastering the Uphill Shift

Musings of an Amateur Armchair Cycling Enthusiast

