Back in the “Swim” of things…

After I decided I don’t like swimming (or rather I remembered that I don’t like swimming) I took a few weeks off.  This is always a mistake.  I feel like If I run or bike sporadically, I feel slower and tire out faster but still enjoy myself.   When I swim sporadically, I just feel plain sick and exhausted after getting back in the pool.

Last week, I needed to break the no-chlorine streak and get back in the water so I arranged a lunch date at Matty J’s Y by his office.  I only made it 1200 yards before dizziness and nausea took over and I had to quit.  It was also frustrating to see Matty keeping up with  me for 6 laps, when he’s usually giggling at me under water and swimming his hardest to keep up for 1-2 laps (okay, but he can kick my butt in everything else so I don’t feel bad saying that!)

I’d forgotten that after a prolonged (more than a week) absence from the pool it is almost like my arm muscles turn to lead and my brain is hazy from the motion of the water.  Typically a half a Bonine (also called meclizine-a motion sickness pill I prefer far more than dramamine) 30 minutes prior to swimming makes all the difference and then when I get back into a regular workout routine, I can back off the pills.

I’m going to make myself try again tonight.  I’ve got a head cold and already feel crummy so I figure swimming isn’t going to make me feel any worse…and I can chalk up any discomfort to the cold. 😉  Plus, I have thanksgiving leftovers waiting for me at home and I want to eat LOTS of them.

Leave a Reply

Fitness Fatale

Conquering Fitness Goals One at a Time

BS in the Midwest

why not Iowa?

GG's Tri Blog

A geeky triathlete's 2 cents on various topics...

mikebuenting

The words of Mike Buenting! Endurance athlete and coach

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

San Diego Fitness Diva

Distance runner and fitness enthusiast who loves coffee & leafy greens

Mastering the Uphill Shift

Musings of an Amateur Armchair Cycling Enthusiast

