The Next Challenge: Flapjack 10K and a New Running Goal

It is just 2 days post triathlon and I don’t feel sore other than a killer sunburn I got waiting for a ride at the finish.  Otherwise I’m surprisingly good.  I decided that I’m just going to get to it with my running training and signed up for the Flapjack 10K on Sunday September 16th to benefit a great charity, the Children’s Cancer Connection.  Braxton, my training partner, has been on their board for years and I’m happy to support the organization and learn more about it while motivating myself to get out and run!

This race was Matty J’s first 10K (actually, he hadn’t ever done a 5K before it!) last year and will only be my 2nd standalone 10K.  I want to average 10:30 miles on a 10K before next summer (That’s dropping a bit over 5 minutes off my first 10K time)  I’ve got a ways to go, but I know I can do it!  Plus, pancakes motivate me more than you would possibly know.  And I hear they are GOOD pancakes!

Anybody else up for the challenge?

Leave a Reply

Fitness Fatale

Conquering Fitness Goals One at a Time

BS in the Midwest

why not Iowa?

GG's Tri Blog

A geeky triathlete's 2 cents on various topics...

mikebuenting

The words of Mike Buenting! Endurance athlete and coach

Running With Hashimoto's

My journey to remission

San Diego Fitness Diva

Distance runner and fitness enthusiast who loves coffee & leafy greens

Mastering the Uphill Shift

Musings of an Amateur Armchair Cycling Enthusiast

