Matty J and My Juice Fame

Matty J an I were featured as 2 of the 4 young professionals in our local Juice Magazine’s story on the Hy Vee Triathlon.  We were both the featured swimmers.  The only thing I wish readers could have seen from the story is that I really, really, am not good at this.  I am one of the last people to finish a community 5K run.  I’m a nervous cyclist.  I just want more people to feel like it is OK to do triathlons because the training and fitness aspect are awesome!

Hopefully if someone is considering trying a race, they’ll read the 4 stories and decide to start training and just go for it next triathlon season…I know that I’ll probably sign up for an early race (maybe somewhere a bit warmer) just to keep me going all winter long. 🙂

My Story

Matty J’s Story

Matty J made the cover. I always knew he was model material. Read the issue at http://www.dmjuice.com.

5 comments

  1. Just wanted to wish you good luck on the Hy-Vee tri! I’ve enjoyed following your training on the blog. I don’t think you give yourself enough credit. Training for an event like this is a huge commitment, and you should be proud to have made it to this point. Have fun!

    1. Thank you, you are too sweet! I just can’t wait to be able to post my HyVee Race Review. 🙂

  2. Priscilla Cronkleton · · Reply

    Cassie- Realized you are famous while looking through triathlon material at the store in our break room! Good for you! I so admire people who will push themselves like you & Matt are doing. I really envy your dedication to a healthy lifestyle.
    I just bought a bike about a month ago & am loving it! If you need somebody on your team for the cycling event, let me know. J/K Good luck with all your endeavors! 🙂 Priscilla

    1. Thanks Priscilla! It was such a nice surprise hearing from you! I just got my bike in January…as you probably know, I didn’t ride as a kid. I was spoiled and had a ride everywhere. ha ha. You can join a Quad City Triathlon team! 🙂 I hope we get home for that one next year. Take care and thank you so much for posting.

      1. Priscilla Cronkleton · ·

        Cassie- Not sure I’d want to see the dismay on the faces of my new teammates as I lumbered up on my bike! I guess I’ll just stick to the bike path. 🙂 You’re right, I don’t remember you ever riding a bike, even a Smurf bike to match your glasses! Your spa looks amazing! What an accomplishment for you. It’s so fun catching up with people you knew as kids & seeing the success they’ve achieved in their lives. If you ever decide to add yoga in the future think of Emily. She’s a certified teacher & she “says” they’re moving back to the US next year & her dream is to teach yoga full-time. Fun catching up with you.

Leave a Reply

Fitness Fatale

Conquering Fitness Goals One at a Time

BS in the Midwest

why not Iowa?

GG's Tri Blog

A geeky triathlete's 2 cents on various topics...

mikebuenting

The words of Mike Buenting! Endurance athlete and coach

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

San Diego Fitness Diva

Distance runner and fitness enthusiast who loves coffee & leafy greens

Mastering the Uphill Shift

Musings of an Amateur Armchair Cycling Enthusiast

