Elbow Pain

I rode my bike solo with my clipless shoes on Sunday (yay me!).  I was time limited because I wanted to make sure Matty J would be available to save me if I biffed it so I just did 12 miles to make sure I got done before he left the house.  He was planning a long run with our training partners (they’re all doing a marathon in the fall. Show-offs!)

I was so focused on my shoes I must have been holding onto the handlebars with a death grip because I hit a crack in the pavement and felt a painful zinger shoot through my forearm into my elbow.  Ow!  I didn’t think of it the rest of Sunday, or Monday for that matter.  Yesterday though, I was in the middle of doing a massage with a pretty deep pressure and I felt the zing in my elbow again and was reminded of the initial pain I felt riding over the crack.

I popped a few ibuprofin and went on a 25 mile ride with Matty J last night which felt amazing except that I hit the same stupid crack in the trail and now my elbow is screaming at me!  I’ll probably check in with training partner Braxton (a chiropractor) to see if he thinks it is anything more than just bruising or inflammation.  Tonight is a swim/run night so I should be okay and I’m hoping being in the pool feels good on my elbow.

Have you ever experienced this from hitting a rough patch on your bike?  How do you learn to loosen your grip on the handlebars?

Leave a Reply

Fitness Fatale

Conquering Fitness Goals One at a Time

BS in the Midwest

why not Iowa?

GG's Tri Blog

A geeky triathlete's 2 cents on various topics...

mikebuenting

The words of Mike Buenting! Endurance athlete and coach

Running With Hashimoto's

My journey to remission

San Diego Fitness Diva

Distance runner and fitness enthusiast who loves coffee & leafy greens

Mastering the Uphill Shift

Musings of an Amateur Armchair Cycling Enthusiast

