Too hot. Back to the YMCA.

Do you find it hard to keep motivated to train in extreme heat?  I’ve been alternating between biking on my trainer in the basement (with an industrial fan!) and hitting the Y.  I was dreading getting on a treadmill since it had seemed like forever, but I was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was to have a way to monitor my speed for interval training!

It used to be that 12 minute miles were my hard pace.  I found (to my delight!) that 12 minute miles were a perfect rest pace and that I could get down to 9.5 minute miles for up to 3 minutes at a time for harder intervals!  I won’t say it wasn’t boring  (36 minutes on the machine felt like an eternity!) but I did like having an accurate measure of my speed since I am very bad at pacing myself.  I’m not dreading the treadmill so much tonight, but I’m looking forward to getting back outside when the heat finally breaks this weekend.

What do you do to workout in hot, hot weather…hydrate and suck it up, or take it indoors?

Leave a Reply

Fitness Fatale

Conquering Fitness Goals One at a Time

BS in the Midwest

why not Iowa?

GG's Tri Blog

A geeky triathlete's 2 cents on various topics...

mikebuenting

The words of Mike Buenting! Endurance athlete and coach

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

San Diego Fitness Diva

Distance runner and fitness enthusiast who loves coffee & leafy greens

Mastering the Uphill Shift

Musings of an Amateur Armchair Cycling Enthusiast

