Feed me!

All day I’ve been fretting about what would be the best foods to eat the night before and morning of my race (Copper Creek Triathlon) tomorrow.  I’ve read things online in praise of salt and carbs and bananas and protein bars, but want to know your thoughts.

I found some helpful suggestions here and after reading about the importance of hydration and diet the days before a race am really starting to doubt the wisdom of the ginormous serving of rice pudding for lunch and drinking nothing but hot tea all day.  The article also suggested eating your last big meal no less than 12 hours before the start time.  When I read “last meal” and “triathlon” together, of course, my thoughts started to go dark.  Yikes.  The advice is really great though, and I probably should have read it a few days ago. 😉

Here is a good article on “Don’ts” before the race.  I am glad I saw “Don’t” #1 before it was too late since I was starting to lean towards eating lots of pasta tonight!  YIKES!

How far ahead of a race to you eat?  How light is your meal?  Any favorite foods or recipes for the night before?  Do you eat solid food right before a morning race or stick to liquids? Please share!  Today I feel like I’m cramming for a big test that I should have been studying for all semester.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

Fitness Fatale

Conquering Fitness Goals One at a Time

BS in the Midwest

why not Iowa?

GG's Tri Blog

A geeky triathlete's 2 cents on various topics...

mikebuenting

The words of Mike Buenting! Endurance athlete and coach

Finding a Balance

Learning to live a healthy, balanced life.

San Diego Fitness Diva

Distance runner and fitness enthusiast who loves coffee & leafy greens

Mastering the Uphill Shift

Musings of an Amateur Armchair Cycling Enthusiast

