Massage and Triathlons

I’m a massage therapist so my endorsement of massage therapy as a valuable training and recovery tool should not come as a surprise.  I’m no stellar athlete but regardless of my skill level, my body has felt beat up since we amped up training this winter.  I can especially tell during swims when my arms and shoulders feel like lead that it is my turn to be the one on the massage table.

I stumbled upon this excellent article explaining the reason behind massage’s benefits for triathletes that I think is a good read for anyone seriously training for athletic events…whether your goal is to win or to finish.  Go.  Read it now.  Then book your massage. 🙂

Me massaging Matty J (a long, long time ago). Well before we were training for anything other than couch-sitting and wine-drinking! We get far more massages these days.

2 comments

  1. Yes! I’m no triathlete, but as a newly minted runner I have found massage to be so helpful. Which reminds me, I need to fit a professional massage into my schedule very soon. My physical therapist has given me some tools and tips for some basic recovery massage that I can do after a run and in conjunction with stretching on my off days.

    I’d love to hear/read any tips you have as a massage therapist for some home massage techniques that are especially good for athletes. Right now I use a firm bolster on the floor and roll my calves, hamstrings, and quads over it. I’ve also used a metal water bottle as a massage tool for the arch of my foot.

    Thoughts?

    1. Kelli,
      I love the foam roller! Since I can’t massage myself, that is the best go-to tool I’ve got. My favorite thing to do is lay on it face-up lengthwise from my sacrum up (I’m short like you so my head fits on it this way too) with my arms out to my sides so open up my pecs and stretch the muscles along my spine. Matty J uses a frozen water bottle over the arch of his foot too. I know it isn’t a massage technique so much, but I do LOVE the weekend warrior bath salts from Prairieland Herbs and I’ve been mixing about 1/4 cup of them with 1 c. epsom salts for a bath soak to make them go farther. The magnesium in epsom salts is great for muscle spasms and I think that using it same day as a hard training has helped me to reduce post-workout pain. There are a few other home tools (the thumby and backnobber or theracane), but most are best for work in areas like between the shoulder blades. I think for leg work, foam roller is the way to go!

      Thanks so much for the comment!
      Cassie

Leave a Reply

Fitness Fatale

Conquering Fitness Goals One at a Time

BS in the Midwest

why not Iowa?

GG's Tri Blog

A geeky triathlete's 2 cents on various topics...

mikebuenting

The words of Mike Buenting! Endurance athlete and coach

Running With Hashimoto's

My journey to remission

San Diego Fitness Diva

Distance runner and fitness enthusiast who loves coffee & leafy greens

Mastering the Uphill Shift

Musings of an Amateur Armchair Cycling Enthusiast

